AIVC - Air Infiltration and Ventilation Centre

Search form

EBC

You are here

Home  |  Events  |  Webinar  |  20 October 2015, CIBSE NVG webinar - Understanding performance tests
Webinar details
20 October 2015, CIBSE NVG webinar - Understanding performance tests
10/20/2015 - 12:00

Tuesday 20 October 2015

  • 1:00 - 2:00 pm Brussels time
  • 12:00 - 1:00 pm London time
  • 2:00 - 3:00 pm Athens time

 

Description

Show full description

Tuesday 20 October 2015


  • 1:00 - 2:00 pm Brussels time

  • 12:00 - 1:00 pm London time

  • 2:00 - 3:00 pm Athens time

 


Description


A fundamental objective when designing a ventilation strategy is to establish the location and size of openings. Both factors depend on the airflow rates required through each ventilation opening in order to maintain adequate indoor air quality (IAQ) and to dissipate heat gains under limiting conditions. Accordingly, a description of the geometry of each opening and its resistance to airflow are required in order to enable a designer to establish the performance of a system using standard envelope flow models. The same information can also be used when working with more complex simulation tools to ensure that a building meets relevant energy and indoor environment quality criteria, such as IAQ, thermal comfort, overheating, and noise levels. The geometrical information and resistance to airflow of a specific ventilation opening can also be used to compare the relative aerodynamic performance of other ventilation openings. An incorrect interpretation of the resistance to flow through an opening can have serious consequences, such as inadequate airflow through a space with consequent overheating and/or air quality issues, or ventilation openings that are oversized and hence too expensive.


Speakers:


  • Roy Jones (Gilberts)

  • Jerry Sipes (Price Industries)

  • David Clarke (Sound Research Laboratory)

  • Mark Roper (BSRIA)

 


Chair persons:


  • Professor Shaun Fitzgerald (Cambridge University, Breathing Buildings) and

  • Dr Benjamin Jones (University Of Nottingham).

 


Participation to the webinar is free, but prior registration is required. Please register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4913009748344383234


More information can be found at: http://www.cibse.org/training-events/october-2015/webinar-understanding-performance-tests





Country:
City:
Venue: Web
Post code:
Street:
Number:
Floor:
Door:
Start date: 10/20/2015 - 12:00
Duration: 1 hour
Contact name:
Contact details:
Hide full description

Highlighted event

ventilation & airtightness
Wellington, New Zealand 19/03/2018

Upcoming events

Brussels, Belgium 13/11/2017
Excellent indoor climate and high performing ventilation
Espoo, Finland 03/06/2018